Crafting: Why I do it, and Why it is Important

Arts Crafts

Second post! I feel like I should explain the blog a little bit better, and tell a little about why I created it. Also- THANKS so much to all of you who read, liked and followed my last post!!! It truly means a lot ❤

I “craft” constantly, I suppose because I am one of those people whose mind jumps from place to place constantly, and I desperately need a creative outlet. I generally have at least two or three projects going on at the same time, I guess to avoid boredom, and am constantly fantasizing about new ideas for crafts, recipes, organization, gardening….

And yes, I mean fantasizing…

I made this blog so I could share my craft projects, my ideas, and my thoughts about artistic development. In my mind, I do not separate “craft” from “art”- a long-standing debate within the art community. In school (to get my BFA), we were constantly taught to create only “art” and NEVER “crafts,” although craftsmanship was highly valued (*cough* irony *cough*). I never understood this. By distinguishing between fine art and the crafts, we limit ourselves to the idea that only a certain type of creativity is valuable to high society: only what society decides is fine art is worthy of significant attention.

In my mind, I see all forms of creativity as art. The concept of fine art is one that is, and always will be, constantly c

hanging, ultimately dynamic in nature, and therefore has no right to discriminate against any form of creativity: even if this means including a decoupaged garbage can, or that glitter decorated mason jar, or that DIY paper organizer… If art is a product of creative thought put into action, and great art is when this product is especially innovative, then crafts are Art- with a capital A. A craft project is (typically speaking) both a creative expression and a unique solution to a problem- no matter how simple.

Anyways… Enough with my ranting! 😉 Posts to come eventually include some tutorials…

Oh- and as a side note, if you want a good read about the subject of creativity, I highly suggest Imagine, How Creativity Works by Jonah Lehrer. I haven’t finished it yet, but it is quite fascinating!

Thanks for reading, and all the best!

 

2 comments

  1. […] Crafting: Why I do it, and Why it is Important […]

    Like

    1. Hey-
      Your site looks pretty cool, and I would be glad to link my future creative projects! But I’m not sure if this belongs in a comment section? I can put a link to your site up if you want in return?
      Thanks for reading (and liking!) !
      Best wishes,
      Amy
      EDIT: OOOPPSSS! Didn’t know what a “pingback” was yet… sorry 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

The Style Voyager

Hong Kong Fashion and Lifestyle Blog.

Graphique Fantastique

Creative Lifestyle Blog | London, UK

Mixed American Life

Mixed Heritage | Mixed Culture | Mixed Identity | Mixed Parenting

Roots 4 Harley

Changing the world via perspective.

Pitter Potter Mad Gardener

Sow, Love and Nurture

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Audio SeXXX

Eargasms found here!

Ky Grabowski

Today is a beginning; not an end.

MUSES

All About Arts

If there is any magic in this world...

The world can be amazing when you are slightly … strange!

The Cloud Pottery

Juliet Macleod: studio potter

Talent Flush Blog

www.talentflush.com

the novel of my life

questioning humanity since 2015

MBFitzmahan

Fine Art Photography

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

WAGblog: Dum Spiro Spero

"While I breathe, I hope"

creative Therapy

unleash the healing power of art

ipledgeafallegiance

When will we ever learn?: Common sense and nonsense about today's public schools in America.

