The Anti-Cramp Smoothie? Maybe…

Period Smoothie

This post is a bit belated in terms of the condition it is referencing, i.e. the period (dun…dun…dun…), because, as us women folk know, PMS and periods do not lend themselves to productivity (usually). But I shall post my new recipe ,of sorts, regardless, since the dreaded “monthly friend” does come on a relatively regular basis šŸ˜‰

I have been on a serious smoothie kick recently: there are literally an infinite number of combinations that can be customized to your own personal needs. My needs, last week, involved kicking some cramps in the butt and having something super yummy. So I did a bit of research:

http://www.healwithfood.org/menstrualcramps/ (HealWithFood.org’s Guide to Fighting Menstrual Cramps)

http://www.livestrong.com/article/89502-good-foods-menstrual-cramps/ (Livestrong‘s Good Foods for Menstrual Cramps)

http://goaskalice.columbia.edu/foods-minimize-menstrual-cramps (Go Ask Alice’s Foods that minimize menstrual cramps?)

Between the three of these sites I learned:

1. The problem is mainly prostaglandins – In my own words: “stuff” your uterus makes to cause pain and inflammation

2. There are nutrients that *may* reduce this nasty aforementioned “stuff”:

Omega 3 fatty acids

-Vitamin E

-Vitamins B6 and B3

-Calcium

-Zinc

-Magnesium

-Fiber

Okay. So NOW I needed a smoothie that contained as much of the above nutrients that I could stand the taste of. I wasn’t expecting such a yummy smoothie, but it actually worked out!!!

For fiber and LOTS of Omega 3 fats: flax seeds

For Vitamin B6: bananas

For Vitamin B6, Magnesium, AND zinc: oatmeal (uncooked)

For Calcium: fortified soy milk (you can use regular milk, too, but I am lactose intolerant)

And….

For the actual I’m-having-my-period-I-don’t-feel-good problem: Good ol’ Hershey’s chocolate syrup

Recipe is shown above. I’m not sure how much it helped my cramps, but I am planning on drinking this daily the week before my next period to help prevent cramps. Regardless, all of this stuff is good for you anyways (well, except for the chocolate syrup…)

Too much info? You are probably a man. Sorry. But not really: you don’t have to deal with prostaglandins.

Leave a Reply

The Style Voyager

Hong Kong Fashion and Lifestyle Blog.

Graphique Fantastique

Creative Lifestyle Blog | London, UK

Mixed American Life

Mixed Heritage | Mixed Culture | Mixed Identity | Mixed Parenting

Roots 4 Harley

Changing the world via perspective.

Pitter Potter Mad Gardener

Sow, Love and Nurture

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Audio SeXXX

Eargasms found here!

Ky Grabowski

Today is a beginning; not an end.

MUSES

All About Arts

If there is any magic in this world...

The world can be amazing when you are slightly ā€¦ strange!

The Cloud Pottery

Juliet Macleod: studio potter

Talent Flush Blog

www.talentflush.com

the novel of my life

questioning humanity since 2015

MBFitzmahan

conversations in black & white

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

WAGblog: Dum Spiro Spero

"While I breathe, I hope"

creative Therapy

unleash the healing power of art

ipledgeafallegiance

When will we ever learn?: Common sense and nonsense about today's public schools in America.

